Fast Forward: The World Cup Goes Indie

Thanks to @adrianrussell ( and @fistedaway ( and Kevin at Indiecater Records for contacting me about this World Cup and Music project…

It’s always a pleasure when I can get to write about some decent music and today I have that chance.

Indiecater is a small record label in Dublin who put together the following compilation album of World Cup songs. There are 32 tracks in all, one for each country appearing at the tournament.

Fast Forward is our most ambitious project to date and it has taken over a year to come to fruition. The premise was simple; we asked some of our favourite bands to write about one of the 32 countries participating in South Africa 2010, the only stipulation being that the song be themed on their chosen country and if possible be football related. As you can imagine this definition was interpreted in about 32 different ways but the results are as colourful, imaginative and exciting as the event they will be used to showcase.”

The Full Selection »

Group A:

South Africa:     Cop On The Edge – Bafana Bafana
Mexico:     Standard Fare – Vaya Vaya México!
Uruguay:     Showstar – Uruguay!
France:     The Very Most – Irlande

Group B:

Argentina:     The Dirty 9s – Ballad of El Diego
Nigeria:     Grand Pocket Orchestra – Nigeria
South Korea:     Pearse McGloughlin – Jongmyo Shrine
Greece:     At Last An Atlas – The Pirate Ship

Group C:

ENGLAND:     Detox Cute – St George’s Day (Video)
USA:     Echo Orbiter – Game Without A Name
Algeria:     Boca Chica – Wildlife of Algeria
Slovenia:     Lightholler – Slovenia’s Dream

Group D:

Germany:     Betty and the Cavalero – Meet Me At The Red Light
Australia     Sleep Good – Australia
Serbia:     Hunter-Gatherer – Serbia
Ghana:     The Invisible Clock Factory – We Are The Black Stars

Group E:

Holland:     Burning Codes – Wooded Land
Denmark:     Cleemann – Princes of Denmark
Japan:     Goatboy – Japanese City Nights
Cameroon:     Spirit Spine – Field Way (Song For Cameroon)

Group F:

Italy:   Le Man Avec Les Lunettes – Don’t Get Fooled By The Football Players…
Paraguay:     Harry Bird – Pesadilla No.7
New Zealand:     Adam and Darcie – Aotearoa
Slovakia:     Escape Act – Slovakia

Group G:

Brazil:     Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin – Back To You
North Korea:     Francis Bacon’s Ghost – Kim Jung II
Ivory Coast:     Storkboy Choons – Côte d’Ivoire
Portugal:     Tap Tap – Dry Dry Land

Group H:

Spain:     The Yellow Melodies – Vamos A Ganar El Mundial
Switzerland:     Candy Claws – Alp Sway Snow Team
Honduras:     My Brother Woody – Carlos Dreams of World Cup Glory (Video)
Chile:     Manwomanchild – Chile La Roja

Selected Listening »

» Le Man Avec Les Lunettes – Don’t Get Fooled By The Football Players’ Summery Outfit

» Grand Pocket Orchestra – Nigeria

» Detox Cute – St George’s Day

» You can hear all of the tracks over at Indiecater Records
» You can download all the tracks for only €5
» Or you can get the album posted to you (anywhere worldwide) on a stick for €10.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.